Author Topic: Rookie needs some help on asphalt  (Read 18746 times)

Offline Aklegend53

Rookie needs some help on asphalt
« on: July 11, 2016, 03:34:19 am »
Ok here goes. I'm a rookie on asphalt this year and my lap times are slower by .250 seconds than the others. I have new cut tires and I feel I'm pushing my car pretty hard but my lap times don't reflect that. When I finish the race my right side tires are smoking hot and the tread towards the outside of the car is being worn quicker than the inside. Here is my setup with me in the car. All my alignments are to the "a good starting point for asphalt as well as my springs. I'm running 52% rear 52% left and cross of 51%. I'm loose coming out of the corners and tight midway through the corner till I can get back on the gas. I'm driving a sedan. I believe my gear ratio is correct cause I'm hitting almost 10k at the end of the straight. And I'm running on a 3/8 oval with 6 degree banking. Any help even small would help. Feel like I'm making some rookie mistakes on my setup. My tire pressures or 22 right side and 16 left side. HELP I just want to run with the pack

Offline justfreaky

• Global Moderator
Re: Rookie needs some help on asphalt
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2016, 05:20:15 am »
Perhaps several factors here... You state you are a rookie and your lap times are .250 slower. Seat time, getting a feel for how the car works and handles, should be your main concern. You will get faster in time.